Geoffrey Starks Nominated To Fill FCC Seat

Posted: July 18, 2018

The President has nominated Geoffrey Starks to fill the open FCC Commission seat created with the departure of Mignon Clyburn.

Starks, an assistant chief in the FCC’s enforcement bureau and a Democrat, was recommended by Minority Leader Chuck Schumer.

The five-member commission is appointed by the President, but no more than three commissioners may be from the same party. Traditionally the President honors the wishes of the minority leader.

After the nomination, NTCA–The Rural Broadband Association Chief Executive Officer Shirley Bloomfield said, “NTCA congratulates Geoffrey Starks on his nomination to serve as FCC Commissioner. His experience at the FCC and clear, long-standing commitment to public service will suit him well in tackling the range of important issues faced by the agency. NTCA and its membership look forward to working with Mr. Starks once he’s confirmed to continue responding to consumer needs and advancing our nation’s broadband goals.”

Clyburn, a Democrat, ended eight years on the commission this spring. During her tenure, Clyburn focused on the needs of low-income and minority communities.

Follow the story:

Mignon Steps Down

Trump Grants Democrats’ Request

Filling A Vacant Democrat Seat

Meet Geoffrey Starks